© 2016 by Weekend Plans. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White SoundCloud Icon
  • White YouTube Icon

Follow us on:


Weekend Plans is a nine-piece group of Richmond, Virginia musicians that have come together to create an incredible blend of jazz-influenced music, with hints of funk, rock, R&B, and Hip-Hop that will get the crowds moving! The band is comprised of all Virginia Commonwealth University students/alumni, and was formed in October 2016 by leader Kayen Wilborn. Since its birth in October, the band has performed at many of the local Richmond venues like The Camel, The Hofheimer Bldg.,  Vagabond, The Broadberry, and Cary St. Cafe. The band has a powerful four-piece horn section led by Kayen Wilborn (Trumpet, Lead Vocals), with Zach Taylor (Bass Trombone), Nathanael Clark (Alto Saxophone), and Chet Frierson (Tenor Saxophone). The rhythm section features Jordan Mason (Bass Guitar), James Baxter (Electric Guitar), Justin Ott (Keyboards), DeSean Gault (Drums). The band features a "ninth man", Richy Jones; he is the band's rapper and auxiliary percussionist, which gives the band its own style and Funk/Hip-Hop flavor!

They are currently working on their first full-length, all original album, with a release in the summer of 2018.

Make this band your Weekend Plans!

Press Quotes

"Man, this group is just what this city needs; a powerful sound that takes me back across generations of music in the best way. From the booming horns and bassline that gives off a James Brown vibe, to a 90's Hip-Hop groove with the rapper, to new age jazz fusion...man, this band is one of a kind. These guys fill every room they perform in. If you haven't seen them, you don't know what you are missing."


Booking/Contact Information

Contact: Kayen Wilborn







Band Members:

Kayen Wilborn: Trumpet, Lead Vocals

Zach Taylor: Bass Trombone

Chet Frierson: Tenor Saxophone

Nathanael Clark: Alto Saxophone

DeSean Gault: Drums

Jordan Mason: Bass Guitar

James Baxter: Electric Guitar

Justin Ott: Keyboards

Richy Jones: Rapper, Aux. Percussion